Home > Domestic News > The Hurricane Irene post

The Hurricane Irene post

Totally obligatory. 

Yesterday we rented a bunch of movies, and loaded up on water and some vino.  This morning, I went out to get the paper and ran some errands, all the while it was about 80 degrees and a bit muggy. 

The best part?  This afternoon I was attempting to get some wind chimes down from the top of our patio, and awkwardly landed on my foot, apparently crushing my big toe.  At least it feels like that.  I’ve iced it down throughout the day, but that didn’t stop it from swelling to an uncomfortable purple color.  And throbbing.  I don’t think its broken, but whatever.  Just another addition to the anxiety.

Right now (about 10:30 PM EST) there’s a light, steady rain, and winds blowing about 10-15 miles an hour.  The Tee Vee tells me that Irene won’t touch New Jersey until sometime around 1 to 2 am tomorrow morning, and is not expected to leave until about twelve hours later.  The only serious thing I’m expecting is loss of power, which would just really suck.

Nevertheless, I’m relatively safe, but not so comfortable thanks to my busted toe.   To anyone reading this, hope all is well on your end.

Categories: Domestic News Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

