Home > Politics > MI-1: About Dan Benishek

MI-1: About Dan Benishek

The supposed heir apparent to be the Republican challenger to Bart Stupak for Michigan’s 1st congressional district.  In the wake of Stupak pathetic Chamberlain-esque cave-in for statism, Benishek’s Facebook page following has soared and I noticed a lot of chattering on Twitter last night.

Allahpundit is underwhelmed:

Even with the new scrutiny and his pro-life betrayal, he’ll be tough to beat, and yet Benishek didn’t think to hire staff or lay the groundwork for a Stupak “sellout” narrative — or even open a PayPal account! — while all the abortion sturm and drang was going on.

I’m just as unimpressed, not that I’m some sort of political sage or anything.  But I did listen to Benishek’s interview on Mark Levin’s radio show earlier tonight, and quite frankly, I don’t even think Levin was impressed.

When asked about the 1st district and what kind of electorate existed there, his response was something to the effect of “..some vote Democrat and some vote Republican” (I’m writing this from memory).  Strike one.

When Levin asked him how people could contribute to his campaign, Benishek seemed unsure of exactly how that could be done.  It was almost as if he didn’t know he had a Facebook page. 

There was a less-than-ecstatic feeling throughout the whole interview, as if Levin had to pull him along.

Enthusiasm is contagious, you know when you feel it.  There was none of that in this interview. 

But again, I’m no expert.  Maybe I was just in a bad mood tonight.  If someone else heard the interview and came away with a different take, I’d love to hear it.

  1. March 23, 2010 at 12:01 PM

    Okay. I gotta say this. I don’t think Benishek personally was the focus of this situation. I was MESMERIZED by the fact that at the time STUPAK threw the pro-life people under the bus there was a spontaneous rally of (now) 18,000 people who flooded this FB page and we all came together in one voice and it was a beautiful thing. I don’t think that’s an insignificant event. Just because this surgeon from the boonies of MI did not have a well-greased inner circle of Washington PR consultants on guard “in case” is not a reason to blow off 18,000 people who have come together on this page for a REAL kumbaya moment by the conservatives…and I have to say I’ve met at least 20 people I know I’m keeping in touch with on this page and we may not be slick, Washington consultant…professional whatever…but if we’re going to rely on the GOP to beat the Democrats in November…we’re all you got, okay? They didn’t even know who this guy was. I called the GOP and they gave me the # of some idiot laywer with ties to the union. So this story should not be about Benishek being an unpolished politician. It should be about HOLY CRAP LOOK AT ALL THESE FREAKIN PEOPLE WHO JOINED TOGETHER IN LESS THAN 24 HOURS!

  2. March 23, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    Additionally…go over to the Benishekforcongress FB page and read the comments. This has become the Gettysburg of Obamacare…everybody from EVERYWHERE is posting on this site and the #s keep getting higher and higher. It’s like Conservative Central. Go watch it for about half an hour and you will learn a thing or two.

    And this is grassroots. These are THE PEOPLE. Not any of you bloggers or media…this is the American people staying connected and you guys can’t even stop and look and recognize that.

    • March 23, 2010 at 6:51 PM

      OK. I guess you have strong opinions of Benishek and that’s fine. It’s your perogative.

      All I’m saying is that at a moment of feeling like you were kicked in the groin, I was expecting some motivation. I didn’t get it from him when I heard that interview.

      And if he intends to rile up the base, he needs to get riled up himself. I wasn’t getting any of that. That’s just me.

  3. KLSmith
    March 24, 2010 at 12:44 AM

    Didn’t hear the interview, but maybe he’s just a laid-back dude. If the base isn’t riled up by Bart’s betrayal and Oba-mao, I don’t think they’re going to get riled up. I sent the guy a few bucks; hope he can send Bart packing.

    • March 24, 2010 at 9:37 AM

      I’ll agree with that. I think it’s tied into the fact that if the healthcare debate showed anything, it’s that the Democrat party is so extreme, it doesn’t allow for moderates—especially pro-lifers like Stupak. From a political point of view, that should allow pro-life Republicans to pick up some members, if they play their cards right, and that should motivate the base.

      Thanks for posting…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

