Home > Technology > Will iPad users “strain” AT&T’s wireless network on Saturday?

Will iPad users “strain” AT&T’s wireless network on Saturday?

AT&T says no:

AT&T Inc., facing criticism for jams in its network in cities like New York, may find the Apple Inc. iPad adds more strain than officials anticipated.

The biggest U.S. phone carrier has played down the expected impact of Apple’s iPad tablet computer, which goes on sale this weekend in the U.S., saying many consumers will choose to run it on Wi-Fi hot spots rather than on AT&T’s wireless network.

I’ve used AT&T/Cingular for a long time now, and I don’t intend on changing.  For me, the benefit is pricing and I’ve yet to see Verizon be more competitive on that end.  On the other hand, I’m getting tired of the dropped calls.   They happen in the same spot all the time (after a specific exit on the GSP and near one corner of a local road near my home) but usually when I’m driving, so I won’t go nuts about that.

Let’s just say I’ll do my best to stay off the phone most of the day on Saturday.

Categories: Technology Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

