Home > Technology > How do you spell “irony”?

How do you spell “irony”?

Here is an actual exchange between Vladimir, a  friend of mine, and Dalton, a friend of Vladimir’s, that I overheard the other day (the names have been changed to protect the innocent):

(Vladimir):  “I will still not sell out to Twitter, and that is the truth.”

(Dalton):    “Hell yeah, I still have no Twitter account…I thought I was the only one!”

This “conversation” took place on Facebook.

I just think it’s amazing how Facebook is becoming such an ingrained part of so many people’s lives, it’s almost second nature to a lot of people.  Most of the people I know are considered lemmings, and I don’t mean that in a bad way by any means.  But they are lemmings in the sense that most people are lemmings–that they really aren’t at the forefront of anything.   They are on Facebook because everyone else is.  And yet, they consider joining Twitter as “selling out”.

Myself, I only joined Facebook back in October because I had two college acquaintances with whom I had lost contact with, begging me for a year to join.  When I finally did, I realized that I too, was a lemming.

I can see why Facebook is important if you had a “brand” to push, or a business, or for a politician (last I checked Mitch McConnell doesn’t have a Facebook page, which I think speaks volumes).   But as a regular person?  Why not just start a blog?

Anyway, this video sums up my attitude towards Facebook for the non-brand pushers:

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment