Home > Everything Else > Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving

Everyone has some sort of tradition for the Thanksgiving Day holiday.  My personal tradition involves watching March of the Wooden Soldiers starring Laurel and Hardy on WPIX (Channel 11 here in Jersey) first thing in the morning.  The film has been on at the same time on Thanksgiving morning, and on the same channel as long as I can remember.  Here is the original trailer:

After the movie’s over, my fiance and I start cooking for family who will be over around three, but I’ll try to get in as much football as possible.   Clearly, it doesn’t take much for me to be content.

Someone once told me that Thanksgiving is the most stressful holiday of the year, and I have to say that probably the best Thanksgiving I ever had was about four years ago, when I blew off every family invitation, and spent the day alone, giving thanks on my own.  But then again, I’m a hopeless misanthrope, and this is probably not for everyone.

The Wall Street Journal runs a great editorial called “The Desolate Wilderness” which is very well worth a read, and puts things in perspective, as we complain about important things like our iPhones not operating fast enough, that there’s too much food around the holidays, or that our favorite football team never plays on Thanksgiving. 

Priorities, people.

UPDATE.  Doug Ross has plenty to be thankful for, as do we all, and Stacy McCain has a nice family story for the holiday season.

Categories: Everything Else Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

